Chromium Code Reviews
Help | Chromium Project | Gerrit Changes | Sign in
(16)

Issue 2870753002: SW Image Decode Cache Low to Medium Quality for Downscale (Closed)

Can't Edit
Can't Publish+Mail
Start Review
Created:
5 months, 2 weeks ago by ericrk
Modified:
5 months ago
Reviewers:
vmpstr
CC:
chromium-reviews, mlamouri+watch-content_chromium.org, cc-bugs_chromium.org, jam, darin-cc_chromium.org, piman+watch_chromium.org
Target Ref:
refs/heads/master
Project:
chromium
Visibility:
Public.

Description

SW Image Decode Cache Low to Medium Quality for Downscale When using the SW Image Decode Cache, low quality images are kept at full resolution, and scaled at raster time using a low-quality filter. While this is cheap from a performance standpoint (no decode-time scale), it increases the cost of storing these images, as they are always stored at full resolution. This change causes us to use medium quality scaling for images which request a low quality downscale. This will generate a mip-level scale, and cache that, potentially reducing our cache size. While this could have a performance cost, this is already the path used by the GPU cache, and we haven't observed performance problems there. CQ_INCLUDE_TRYBOTS=master.tryserver.blink:linux_trusty_blink_rel Review-Url: https://codereview.chromium.org/2870753002 Cr-Commit-Position: refs/heads/master@{#473090} Committed: https://chromium.googlesource.com/chromium/src/+/9d1c3d7252f0371e7df6e2519eed6462e9e00a12

Patch Set 1 #

Patch Set 2 : rebase #

Patch Set 3 : rebaseline #

Patch Set 4 : rebase #

Patch Set 5 : rebase fixes #

Patch Set 6 : re-base layout tests #

Patch Set 7 : rebaseline #

Unified diffs Side-by-side diffs Delta from patch set Stats (+75 lines, -36 lines) Patch
M cc/tiles/software_image_decode_cache.cc View 1 2 3 4 1 chunk +7 lines, -5 lines 0 comments Download
M cc/tiles/software_image_decode_cache_unittest.cc View 1 2 3 4 6 chunks +68 lines, -31 lines 0 comments Download
D third_party/WebKit/LayoutTests/fast/borders/border-image-repeat-round-expected.png View 1 2 6 Binary file 0 comments Download
D third_party/WebKit/LayoutTests/platform/linux/fast/borders/border-image-repeat-round-expected.png View 1 2 6 Binary file 0 comments Download
M third_party/WebKit/LayoutTests/platform/mac/css3/blending/background-blend-mode-crossfade-image-gradient-expected.png View 1 2 3 4 5 6 Binary file 0 comments Download
A third_party/WebKit/LayoutTests/platform/mac/fast/borders/border-image-repeat-round-expected.png View 1 2 6 Binary file 0 comments Download
M third_party/WebKit/LayoutTests/platform/mac/images/color-profile-border-image-expected.png View 1 2 3 4 5 6 Binary file 0 comments Download
M third_party/WebKit/LayoutTests/platform/mac/images/color-profile-group-expected.png View 1 2 3 4 5 6 Binary file 0 comments Download
M third_party/WebKit/LayoutTests/platform/mac/images/cross-fade-background-size-expected.png View 1 2 3 4 5 6 Binary file 0 comments Download
M third_party/WebKit/LayoutTests/platform/win/css3/blending/background-blend-mode-crossfade-image-gradient-expected.png View 1 2 6 Binary file 0 comments Download
M third_party/WebKit/LayoutTests/platform/win/fast/borders/border-image-repeat-round-expected.png View 1 2 6 Binary file 0 comments Download
M third_party/WebKit/LayoutTests/platform/win/images/color-profile-border-image-expected.png View 1 2 6 Binary file 0 comments Download
M third_party/WebKit/LayoutTests/platform/win/images/color-profile-group-expected.png View 1 2 6 Binary file 0 comments Download
M third_party/WebKit/LayoutTests/platform/win/images/cross-fade-background-size-expected.png View 1 2 6 Binary file 0 comments Download
Commit queue not available (can’t edit this change).

Messages

Total messages: 63 (40 generated)
ericrk
5 months, 2 weeks ago (2017-05-08 22:02:13 UTC) #3
vmpstr
lgtm, you'll have to rebaseline the bots but from the looks of the linux one ...
5 months, 1 week ago (2017-05-09 21:58:14 UTC) #15
commit-bot: I haz the power
CQ is trying da patch. Follow status at: https://chromium-cq-status.appspot.com/v2/patch-status/codereview.chromium.org/2870753002/40001
5 months, 1 week ago (2017-05-10 18:48:31 UTC) #18
commit-bot: I haz the power
Try jobs failed on following builders: win_chromium_x64_rel_ng on master.tryserver.chromium.win (JOB_FAILED, http://build.chromium.org/p/tryserver.chromium.win/builders/win_chromium_x64_rel_ng/builds/423167)
5 months, 1 week ago (2017-05-10 20:54:47 UTC) #20
commit-bot: I haz the power
CQ is trying da patch. Follow status at: https://chromium-cq-status.appspot.com/v2/patch-status/codereview.chromium.org/2870753002/40001
5 months, 1 week ago (2017-05-10 20:56:47 UTC) #22
commit-bot: I haz the power
Try jobs failed on following builders: linux_chromium_rel_ng on master.tryserver.chromium.linux (JOB_TIMED_OUT, http://build.chromium.org/p/tryserver.chromium.linux/builders/linux_chromium_rel_ng/builds/450751)
5 months, 1 week ago (2017-05-11 03:04:31 UTC) #24
commit-bot: I haz the power
CQ is trying da patch. Follow status at: https://chromium-cq-status.appspot.com/v2/patch-status/codereview.chromium.org/2870753002/40001
5 months, 1 week ago (2017-05-11 16:54:47 UTC) #26
commit-bot: I haz the power
Try jobs failed on following builders: linux_chromium_rel_ng on master.tryserver.chromium.linux (JOB_FAILED, http://build.chromium.org/p/tryserver.chromium.linux/builders/linux_chromium_rel_ng/builds/451961)
5 months, 1 week ago (2017-05-11 19:05:57 UTC) #28
commit-bot: I haz the power
CQ is trying da patch. Follow status at: https://chromium-cq-status.appspot.com/v2/patch-status/codereview.chromium.org/2870753002/40001
5 months, 1 week ago (2017-05-11 20:17:53 UTC) #30
commit-bot: I haz the power
Try jobs failed on following builders: linux_chromium_rel_ng on master.tryserver.chromium.linux (JOB_FAILED, http://build.chromium.org/p/tryserver.chromium.linux/builders/linux_chromium_rel_ng/builds/452375)
5 months, 1 week ago (2017-05-11 23:24:04 UTC) #32
commit-bot: I haz the power
CQ is trying da patch. Follow status at: https://chromium-cq-status.appspot.com/v2/patch-status/codereview.chromium.org/2870753002/40001
5 months ago (2017-05-17 20:34:55 UTC) #34
commit-bot: I haz the power
Try jobs failed on following builders: android_compile_dbg on master.tryserver.chromium.android (JOB_FAILED, https://build.chromium.org/p/tryserver.chromium.android/builders/android_compile_dbg/builds/271900) android_cronet on master.tryserver.chromium.android (JOB_FAILED, ...
5 months ago (2017-05-17 20:41:08 UTC) #36
commit-bot: I haz the power
CQ is trying da patch. Follow status at: https://chromium-cq-status.appspot.com/v2/patch-status/codereview.chromium.org/2870753002/40001
5 months ago (2017-05-17 21:21:57 UTC) #38
commit-bot: I haz the power
Try jobs failed on following builders: linux_trusty_blink_rel on master.tryserver.blink (JOB_FAILED, http://build.chromium.org/p/tryserver.blink/builders/linux_trusty_blink_rel/builds/9664) mac_chromium_compile_dbg_ng on master.tryserver.chromium.mac (JOB_FAILED, ...
5 months ago (2017-05-17 21:28:01 UTC) #40
commit-bot: I haz the power
CQ is trying da patch. Follow status at: https://chromium-cq-status.appspot.com/v2/patch-status/codereview.chromium.org/2870753002/60001
5 months ago (2017-05-18 00:45:33 UTC) #43
commit-bot: I haz the power
Try jobs failed on following builders: linux_trusty_blink_rel on master.tryserver.blink (JOB_FAILED, http://build.chromium.org/p/tryserver.blink/builders/linux_trusty_blink_rel/builds/9671) android_arm64_dbg_recipe on master.tryserver.chromium.android (JOB_FAILED, ...
5 months ago (2017-05-18 00:51:50 UTC) #45
commit-bot: I haz the power
CQ is trying da patch. Follow status at: https://chromium-cq-status.appspot.com/v2/patch-status/codereview.chromium.org/2870753002/80001
5 months ago (2017-05-18 01:01:46 UTC) #48
commit-bot: I haz the power
Try jobs failed on following builders: mac_chromium_rel_ng on master.tryserver.chromium.mac (JOB_FAILED, http://build.chromium.org/p/tryserver.chromium.mac/builders/mac_chromium_rel_ng/builds/456813)
5 months ago (2017-05-18 03:23:06 UTC) #50
commit-bot: I haz the power
CQ is trying da patch. Follow status at: https://chromium-cq-status.appspot.com/v2/patch-status/codereview.chromium.org/2870753002/80001
5 months ago (2017-05-18 16:01:28 UTC) #53
commit-bot: I haz the power
CQ is trying da patch. Follow status at: https://chromium-cq-status.appspot.com/v2/patch-status/codereview.chromium.org/2870753002/120001
5 months ago (2017-05-18 18:24:34 UTC) #56
commit-bot: I haz the power
Try jobs failed on following builders: win_chromium_rel_ng on master.tryserver.chromium.win (JOB_FAILED, http://build.chromium.org/p/tryserver.chromium.win/builders/win_chromium_rel_ng/builds/448843)
5 months ago (2017-05-19 00:08:22 UTC) #58
commit-bot: I haz the power
CQ is trying da patch. Follow status at: https://chromium-cq-status.appspot.com/v2/patch-status/codereview.chromium.org/2870753002/120001
5 months ago (2017-05-19 00:13:54 UTC) #60
commit-bot: I haz the power
5 months ago (2017-05-19 04:59:05 UTC) #63
Message was sent while issue was closed.
Committed patchset #7 (id:120001) as
https://chromium.googlesource.com/chromium/src/+/9d1c3d7252f0371e7df6e2519eed...
Sign in to reply to this message.

Powered by Google App Engine
RSS Feeds Recent Issues | This issue
This is Rietveld 81bcdb8aa